Chicago Public School requires that Family Life is taught in elementary school and in high school. Blaine will begin the lessons after Spring Break.

K-4 Topic Areas

  • Anatomy and physiology
  • Reproduction
  • Health relationships
  • Personal safety

5-8 Topic Areas:

  • Abstinence
  • Medically recommended contraceptives
  • Transmission and prevention of sexually transmitted infections including HIV
  • Healthy relationships, which includes informed decision making
  • Sexual orientation
  • Personal safety

Below is a list of topics and lessons that will be taught throughout the year. Instructional materials can be made available upon request. State law allows you to remove your student from comprehensive sexual health education or HIV/AIDS prevention education. If you do not want your student to participate in the comprehensive sexual health or HIV/AIDS prevention instructional program, please give a note to your student’s homeroom teacher. If students do not participate in the program, they will join another special that is taking place during that time.

The goal of a comprehensive sexual health education program is to help students learn the facts and to make good decisions now, and later in life.

Both Mr. Sikes and Ms. Harms will be available in Room B-12 during Report Card Pick-up on Wednesday, April 18th to answer any questions about program objectives.


Blaine Health Team

CPS Family Life and Comprehensive Sexual Health Education Lesson Overview

Family Life Education (K-4)

  • My Body (K-4) – students learn the medically accurate names and location of external body parts.
  • Good Touch/Bad Touch (K-3) – students learn the difference between appropriate and inappropriate touching by others and how to stay safe.
  • Living Things Reproduce (K-2) – students learn the difference between things that are living and non-living, the life cycle, and that all living things can reproduce.
  • The Family (K-1) – students learn about different family structures and how they change and the names/relations of family members.
  • Feelings (K-1) – students learn how to identify uncomfortable feelings and use I-messages to express them.
  • Bullying (K-4) – students learn how to identify bullying and why it’s wrong.
  • Changes of Adolescence (4) – students learn about puberty including the physical, social and emotional changes that accompany it.
  • Growth and Development (2-3) – students learn how their bodies grow, develop and change and how it influences behavior.
  • Learning About HIV (4) – students learn the cause and transmission of HIV infection and how to identify valid sources for information about HIV infection.
  • My Relationships (2-4) – students learn the different types of relationships and the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.
  • Respecting Myself and Others (4) – students learn how to respect themselves and others.
  • I’m Unique (2-5) – students learn about diversity, including sexual orientation (4 and 5)what makes them unique.

Comprehensive Sexual Health Education (5-12)

  • Comprehensive sexual health education is medically accurate, age-appropriate sexual health education that aligns with the National Sexual Health Education Standards. Expand upon the foundational instruction and continues to increase learning on following topic areas:
  • Human Reproduction (5-12) – students learn about male and female reproductive systems, the definition of sexual intercourse, stages of child birth and prenatal care.
  • HIV/AIDS and STIs (5-12) – students learn what HIV and sexually transmitted infections are, how they’re transmitted and how they can be prevented.
  • Contraceptive Methods (5-12) – students learn about the different barrier and hormonal contraceptive methods, including abstinence.
  • Relationships (5-12) – students learn the different types of relationships and the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.
  • Sexual Orientation (5-12) – students learn about sexual orientation and key definitions, and bullying prevention.
  • Refusal Skills and Delay Tactics (5-12) – students learn effective refusal skills and delay tactics to help them make healthy choices.